Goodbye Year 12

What a crazy few months it has been. It’s been so busy with the season, beginning of school and a new school for the B-man that I haven’t written one post about the soccer season. I’ve had many topics to write about and the list of topics keeps growing. So instead I will be playing catch up in the upcoming posts.

First, let me say the season has come to an end prematurely. It was a tough loss to a local rival high school and unexpected. As I was leaving the stadium, the school’s Athletic Director said, “Make sure you give Tim a hug when he gets home!” I replied with “I’m leaving town.” He laughed but little did he know I was seriously considering it. I knew the depression set in the moment the game ended. Little did I know it was more sadness than depression. Tim stated he was sad the season was already over because the players had worked so hard throughout the season. It finally occurred to me yesterday that wasn’t the only reason. Tim had to turn in all the uniforms and his keys this past Thursday. Basically, closing up shop. Closing the part of the year that he loves the most. If you were to ask him his favorite season of the year, I guarantee it is Fall. I realized that the sadness stems from him having to say goodbye to not just the players and the game but from the job he loves the most. I tried to imagine what it would be like to say goodbye to teaching when I wasn’t ready- I would be sad too. Yes, there are some days I wish I was a Walmart greeter but overall I love my job, just as Tim loves his job as coach. Tim’s high school soccer coach has always said, “Tim bleeds black and gold (the high school colors) and will never leave.” This I believe is true. He has made the boy’s soccer program at South Carroll a winning program. More importantly he has built a program that is respected throughout the county. HE is respected throughout the county. To me that’s better than any title or championship. So here’s hoping my job as “wife” and “partner” can help ease some of the sadness. He didn’t win a soccer championship but he is a champion to me and the B-man.

Leave a comment